Trainee Award


Amal Bhullar, MD

Department of Psychiatry, Chief Resident

Dr. Bhular was one of two UF Health – Jacksonville residents to be honored with the Gold Humanism Award this year in Gainesville. She was acknowledged last year as the psychiatry department’s resident teacher of the year. To facilitate her research efforts, she earned the Attending Staff Foundation Grant, the Dean’s Travel Award Grant, and the American Psychiatric Association Travel Award Grant. She has given national presentations at the annual conferences for both the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training as well as for the American Psychiatric Association. Dr. Bhullar has established herself as a distinguished leader serving as our department’s chief resident, being appointed to the Committee for Annual Program Evaluation Reviews as well as the Graduate Medical Education Committee. Additionally, she is a trailblazer. In an effort to combat the deadly opioid epidemic, she felt compelled to contact the Department of Health to arrange and pilot access to Narcan and fentanyl test strips for our psychiatry outpatient clinic as well as PCP clinics in our UF Health system. She embraces discomfort, eradicates barriers, and tackles problems head-on to achieve every goal she aims to. While Amal appreciates that systems changes lead to improved patient outcomes and care, she also provides that care. Her patients are eager to share their adoration of her. Her empathy and infectious attitude transcend the standard of care. She is a leader in her patient’s lives, although she only ever makes them feel equal. “I cannot imagine anyone encompassing UF’s slogan more because Amal never quits in the sole interest of patient care.”

Jeanne Rabalais, MD

Department of Emergency Medicine, Chief Resident

Dr. Rabalais is a standout Chief Resident in Emergency Medicine. She has distinguished by her exceptional leadership, clinical prowess, and dedication to medical education. Dr. Rabalais has established herself as a distinguished servant leader while serving as our department’s chief resident, her membership in the Committee for Annual Program Evaluation Reviews, as well as the IDEA and WIMS Committees.  Her remarkable achievements include multiple regional and national presentations, as well as publishing articles in prestigious journals. She holds roles in national organizations such as American College of Emergency Physicians, Emergency Medicine Residents Association, Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors, and Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Additionally, she has spearheaded initiatives in diversity and inclusion within and external to our institution. She has won multiple awards during her residency, including the quarterly UF College of Medicine Jacksonville’s Resident Spotlight in January of 2023, the Audience Choice Award for the UF GME Innovation of the Year competition, and an extremely competitive scholarship for the ACEP teaching fellowship. Her passion for emergency medicine, mentorship, and medical education is exemplified by her starting her Medical Education fellowship and joining us as faculty this July.


Weyh, Ashleigh
Ashleigh Weyh, MD

Ashleigh Weyh, MD

Head and Neck Oncologic Surgery & Microvascular Reconstruction

2023 Awardee – Women in Medicine and Science Trainee Award

  • Dr. Weyh completed OMFS residency in 2022 and is currently completing Head and neck oncology and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship.
  • Research: As evidenced by her numerous publications, including book chapters and peer-reviewed journals. However, what is not reflected on her curriculum vitae is the numerous residents, fellows, and attendings she has assisted in publishing their research, without any written credit, but just to be kind and support the research process.
  • National Work: She is the immediate past president of the resident component of the national organization, the American Association of Oral Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS). Co-Founder of Resident AAOMS Underrepresented Minority Mentorship Program and Project Leader Resident AAOMS Women in OMS Mentorship Program


Jessica Ramos, DO
Jessica Ramos, DO

Jessica Ramos, DO

2022 Awardee – Women in Medicine and Science Trainee Award

“Dr. Ramos is the inaugural chair and founder of the Department of Residency Program’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee. This committee has helped establish a rotational scholarship for students who are underrepresented in medicine (URiM), and has developed recruitment strategies aimed at attracting URiM residency candidates to our program. She has also been heavily involved in planning our residency’s community outreach projects to further serve our community.”

“Dr. Ramos has been actively involved in research and presentations both regionally and nationally related to fertility and childbearing trends in female trainees in Emergency Medicine.”

“At an institutional level, she has been a Resident Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) representative since 2019. In recognition of her leadership skills, she was peer selected as the resident GMEC Member at Large in 2020.”